Here you will find all the information about what is gluten, gluten intolerance, gluten in food and how to do a gluten-free diet. Also how to make recipes for celiacs, news about celiac disease and much more.
What is Gluten?
Gluten consists basically of small proteins (prolamins and glutelins) that are characteristic of some cereals, among which are wheat, rye, barley and oats, as well as all their varieties, reaching up to 90% of the wheat protein.
In the food and food industry, it is used in the production of numerous products because it provides certain characteristics such as elasticity, making it easier to obtain fluff in baked goods such as bread.
In addition, gluten can be isolated from the flour and consumed only, as a vegetable alternative to proteins of animal origin, as long as it is combined with other types of proteins, since, gluten, is not a protein of high biological quality, since it lacks essential amino acids.
Although gluten is a protein, there is a percentage of the world population, it is estimated that between 1 and 2%, can not tolerate well the consumption of this protein.
Gluten intolerance, also known as celiac disease, is a digestive disorder in which, faced with the consumption of gluten, the body undergoes alterations of immunological origin in which the intestine is mainly affected, causing malabsorption of nutrients.
Currently there is no cure as such for celiac disease, so, the treatment is exclusively dietary, that is, avoiding the intake of gluten.
In the market, the list of foods that may contain gluten is quite extensive, so, it is necessary a learning and adaptation process to achieve a diet completely free of gluten and avoid the possible consequences for the health of celiac disease.
Food with Gluten
Among the main sources of gluten, there are cereals that naturally contain it as they are, wheat and all its varieties, as well as barley, rye and oats, however, the list does not end there, since all Foods derived from these cereals contain gluten.
Products based on wheat flour such as bread, cookies, pasta, box cereals, among others, obviously contain gluten.
Other products that may contain gluten according to their preparation are candies or candy products, sausages, some preserves, and even some condiments.
In addition, the products that are manufactured in places where gluten is also handled, may contain gluten traces significantly, so, we must be careful and read the labels of all industrialized foods we consume.
Gluten Free Food
The list of foods that contain gluten or can contain it is quite extensive, however, there is a large number of foods that are naturally gluten-free.
Fruits and vegetables of any kind do not contain gluten, eggs and meats are also gluten-free.
In addition, most dairy products such as cheese, yogurt, and milk, do not contain gluten, although sometimes they can contain it if they have any added.
Nuts, such as nuts, peanuts and almonds, are gluten-free foods by nature.
Among the cereals that we can find gluten free, are rice, corn, amaranth, buckwheat and quinoa.
Corn starch and potato starch are also gluten free. Another gluten-free food is legumes, such as chickpeas, lentils and beans.
Oils and other fats like butter do not contain gluten naturally.
Simple sugars such as honey, fructose, sugar itself do not contain gluten either.
The gluten gives certain characteristics to the bread since, when propitiating the elasticity, it allows that the bread has volume and fluffiness. We often believe that, by removing gluten from the diet, we will not be able to consume bread, since most of it is made from flours containing gluten, however, it is possible to replace it.
When we eliminate the gluten from the preparations with flours such as bread, the results may not be the same, that is why it is very useful to learn what flours are going to give us similar results, and how to replace the wheat flour in the different recipes.
In addition, it is possible to find gluten-free bread on the market today, it is enough to know the spaces in which we can obtain these products as well as the brands that exist to facilitate their acquisition.
Although the main sources of gluten are precisely cereals, not all cereals contain this type of protein, so we can use them to maintain a balanced and pleasant diet to our palate.
We must bear in mind that gluten is not an essential nutrient in our diet, therefore, we can eliminate it completely without putting our health at risk, on the contrary, in the case of being gluten intolerant, it is necessary to avoid its consumption.
The options of gluten-free cereals in nature, are sorghum, corn, buckwheat, millet, quinoa and rice and teff, these can be adapted as a substitute for wheat in different recipes and currently, are the options which are used in gluten-free products.