Celiacs: Symptoms, Diagnosis, Treatment and more. In the second century BC Arateus of Cappadocia speaks for first time about patients that need to remove grains from their diet to “cure themselves.” In 1980, Samuel Gee wrote the treaty of “celiac disease” which accurately defines and describes the disease. However, it wasn’t until 1950 that Dutch Dike discovered […]
Eating a gluten-free diet is the challenge that coeliacs face. Here we give you advice, help and suggestions to take your diet for coeliacs as best as possible.
For people with celiac disease it is essential to have a gluten-free diet, getting gluten-free products on the market for their food, and also know the issues related to celiac disease and its progress to improve the quality of life of patients.
How to take a diet for celiac or gluten-free diet
The rule is simple: in the celiac diet or gluten-free diet you can consume all foods that do not contain gluten, but the choice is not always easy. Fortunately there are lists of these products and also many gluten-free products that you can buy even online. Remember that gluten is used for different purposes in the preparation of most processed foods and sometimes hides gluten under certain names or cross contamination. Patients with celiac disease can enjoy without problems all those who do not contain it by nature, and those identified as "gluten free" or "gluten free".
Foods with gluten
Gluten is found in many of the cereals and acts as a binding element, very appreciated in the preparation of breads and cakes, responsible for the elastic consistency of the masses. The cereals that contain gluten are wheat, rye, barley, spelled, kamut, bulgur and oats, as well as all foods that have one of these cereals as an ingredient. As a precaution you should always check the list of ingredients in processed foods, such as cookies, soups, sausages, seasonings, ice cream, chocolates and sweets, since a minimum amount of gluten can be harmful for celiacs. Similarly, cooking and baking should prevent gluten from contaminating other foods, which is known as cross contamination.
Among the gluten-free cereals are corn, rice, millet, amaranth, tef and quinoa. Neither potatoes nor potatoes and nuts contain gluten. You can also consume fruits and vegetables, nuts, milk and dairy products, fresh or ripe cheeses, fish, meat, and eggs. Also oils and shortenings. The gluten-free diet does not mean having to give up bread, cakes, or breakfasts with cereals, there are many gluten-free product options, which can be prepared at home such as gluten-free pizza, gluten-free cookies, gluten-free sponge cake or muffins without gluten. Another option is to buy them online and receive them in the comfort of your home, these have a texture and flavor similar to their versions with gluten.
The celiacs can also drink water, wine, fruit juices, teas, infusions, soft drinks and cocktails. These foods can be included in your gluten-free diet, although to be completely sure, it is important to read the labels to make sure they do not contain traces of gluten.
Gluten-free food for non-celiacs
It is said that a gluten-free diet is much less irritating to the intestine, which improves digestion, prevents gas, and facilitates the absorption of nutrients, improves the immune system and mood. In many cases doctors recommend reducing or avoiding the consumption of foods with gluten for people who do not suffer from celiac disease.
The gluten-free diet is an extra expense for Celiacs. The Euskadi Celiac Association says a celiac’s diet costs 325% more than the average diet with gluten. This is data comes from a survey on “Rosca” or “King’s cake” prices last Jan. 5. Extra expense for celiacs During festive holidays, the Association has completed two tasks: […]